Chapter earns national recognition UW-Richland Phi Theta Kappa honor society

New members inducted

The Phi Mu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, University of Wisconsin-Richland’s honor society, recently earned national recognition, a Pinnacle Award, a point of pride for the chapter according to their advisor Dr. Aharon Zorea, associate professor of history. The award recognizes successful participation.

During ceremonies held April 13, the UW-Richland chapter inducted more than 20 new members. The ceremony included a Procession of Inductees led by chapter secretary Danielle Peterson, Hillsboro. Chapter president Brian Yam, Hong Kong, welcomed the new members, who also heard words of congratulations and inspiration from advisor Zorea.

New members are:

  • Jenelle Anderson, LaFarge
  • Melanie Auz, Lone Rock
  • Garrett Benzing, Sparta
  • Arica Burke, Richland Center
  • Elizabeth Deitelhoff, Cazenovia
  • Elizabeth Govier, Prairie du Chien
  • Kelly Hohneke, Lone Rock
  • Bohan Hao, Taiyuan, China
  • Lee Lilian Honer, Richland Center
  • Stephanie Johnson, Sun Prairie
  • Hyun-June (John) Kim, Taebaek, South Korea
  • Rachel Koegel, Richland Center
  • Rain Koepke, Mukwonago
  • Anna Korb, Richland Center
  • Sadie Lewis, Avoca
  • Allison Preuss, Elroy
  • Lilit (Lily) Saribekyan, Yerevan, Armenia
  • Sarah Schultz, Richland Center; Lacey Seep, Cazenovia
  • Jeong-Won (Francesca) Shin, Seoul, South Korea
  • Emily Simonson, Lone Rock
  • Nicole Vlasak, Elroy

These new members join about 25 continuing members. Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is to recognize and encourage scholarship and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development for members of this international honor society for students at two-year colleges.

Since the UW-Richland Phi Mu chapter was chartered in 1971, about 500 members have graduated. For more information about the organization, contact Zorea by e-mail at or by calling the campus at (608) 647-6186, Extension 247.


Dorothy Thompson
(608) 647-6186, Extension 231