McLeer named UW-Richland Kaplan Award winner


Dr. Karen McLeer, Cobb, associate dean and associate professor of English at the University of Wisconsin-Richland campus, has been named recipient of the prestigious Arthur M. Kaplan Award for the current academic year. The award recognizes improvement of service to UW-Richland students.

McLeer, who joined the faculty in 1997 and who has also served as associate dean since 2005, was chosen for innovations that have enhanced campus life for students and faculty/staff.
The selection committee noted that McLeer has done an excellent job of hiring high-quality part-time faculty since she began service as associate dean. Other accomplishments cited by the committee included her work in re-tuning and promoting UW-Richland’s Academic Alliance (concurrent enrollment program for high school students), finding inventive ways to schedule courses to meet the needs of students and faculty, and her strong commitment to providing UW-Richland students with a high-quality, innovative curriculum.

UW-Richland CEO/Dean Dr. Patrick Hagen said, ““Dr. Karen McLeer is a very deserving recipient of the 2011-2012 Kaplan Award. Dr. McLeer manages the two roles of associate dean and professor of English with grace and efficiency. During these difficult times, she brings creativity and vast experience to our curricular program. It is a pleasure for me to work with her. I am so pleased that her long-standing commitment to UW-Richland has received the recognition it deserves.”

The Kaplan award, begun in 1993, includes funds to be used for professional development or supplies and equipment. The award totals $500, with $250 provided by the UW Colleges and $250 provided by the Richland County Campus Foundation. McLeer plans to use the Kaplan award funds for professional development.

The Arthur M. Kaplan Award program was established to recognize the outstanding contributions made to education by UW Colleges faculty and academic staff. Each of the 13 campuses around the state that collectively make up the UW Colleges annually honors outstanding individual efforts with the Kaplan Award. The Arthur M. Kaplan Award recognizes the positive spirit of UW Colleges provost/vice chancellor emeritus Arthur M. Kaplan. 


Dorothy Thompson
(608) 647-6186, Extension 231