Recognition at UW-Richland Graduation

Achievement & service honored
By UW-Richland

During Graduation and Awards Night ceremonies held May 9 on the University of Wisconsin-Richland campus, service to the campus community and academic achievement were recognized. 

UW-Richland international students completing their studies were honored. Recognized with Youth for Understanding (YFU) or International Research and Exchange (IREX) program completion awards were:

Sabrine Addi, Belgium;
Alim Bekzhanov, Kazakhstan;
Sumi Chi, South Korea;
Nayoung Lee, South Korea;
Boutheyna Rekik, Tunisia;
Aziz Sakesli, Tunisia;
Daria Schindler, Switzerland;
Muhammad Tariq, Pakistan; and
Yangfan (Timothy) Tong, China.

Named as recipient of the Excellence in Biological Science Award was Kami Klossowski, Cazenovia.

The Magellan Award for History was presented to two exceptional history students-- Hannah Breininger, Richland Center, and Khalid Abdl-Haleem, Muscoda.

Anna Schellhorn, Gays Mills, was presented with the Future Educator of the Year Award.

Campus View Residence Life Awards, recognizing the work of student leaders at the housing facility for UW-Richland students, went to:

Amanda Baker, Gays Mills;
Linda Fritz, Richland Center;
Morgan Johnson, Oregon, WI;
Eric Mindham, Boscobel.

Student government leaders were presented with Student Senate Recognition in acknowledging their service to fellow students and the campus community. Those honored were:

Khalid Abdl-Haleem, Muscoda;
Amanda Baker, Gays Mills;
Mark Baldridge, Hillsboro;
Sumi Chi, South Korea;
Rikki Cupp, Blue River;
Yingzhe (Becky) Du, China;
Tim Fortun, Viola;
Tsz Fung (Timmy)Kwan, Hong Kong;
Ka Yin (Jennifer) Lau, Hong Kong;
Chu Qi (Evis) Li, China;
Megan Miller, Muscoda;
Tai Pham, Vietnam;
Andrea Sanger, Lancaster;
Anna Schellhorn, Gays Mills;
Erin Tulpa, Oak Creek; and
Yang Yang, China.

In recognition of his outstanding leadership qualities and academic excellence, Tsz Fung (Timmy) Kwan was presented with the prestigious Lee Grugel Memorial Award.

Campus Ambassadors, who serve throughout the year, as hosts, campus tour guides and more were honored for their service. Ambassadors recognized were:

Khalid Abdl-Haleem, Muscoda;
Rikki Cupp, Blue River, fall semester;
Diondre Howard, Milwaukee, spring semester;
Sydney Knoll, Ontario;
Jennifer Lau, Hong Kong;
Lance Maloney, Richland Center, fall semester;
Nichelle Martin, Gays Mills;
Megan Miller, Muscoda;
Eric Mindham, Boscobel, spring semester;
Jessica Rocha, Plover, fall semester;
Andrea Sanger, Lancaster;
Anna Schellhorn, Gays Mills; and
Yang Yang, China.

Morgan Johnson, Oregon, WI, was named recipient of the Ron Ganser Memorial Award, which recognizes a student for success in both athletics and academics.         

Students named Karen Stoltz, student affairs coordinator from Richland Center, “Roadrunner of the Year,” an award that recognizes a faculty or staff person for participation in and support of campus activities, accessibility to students, and a positive attitude toward UW-Richland.



Dorothy Thompson
608.647.6186, ext. 231