Students recognized for achievement & service

At UW-Richland Graduation & Awards Night

Service to the campus community and academic achievement were recognized during Graduation and Awards Night ceremonies held May 6 on the University of Wisconsin-Richland campus. This was the first UWRichland Graduation for CEO/Dean Dr. Patrick Hagen.

International students completing Youth for Understanding certificate programs were recognized. Those
students are:

  • Mathijs Cortvriendt, Spain and Netherlands
  • Mathias Cronenberger, France
  • Qiting Feng, China
  • Isabella Raasthoej, Denmark
  • Andrea Sanchez, France
  • Luca Strebel, Switzerland
  • Jeong-Won Shin, South Korea

Recognized for completing the IREX Certificate of Program were UW-Richland international students:

  • Hanna Halavina, Belarus
  • Lilit (Lily)Saribekyan, Armenia

Students who volunteer to tutor their fellow students were applauded for their service. Those student volunteers recognized were:

  • Jake Bartlein, Hillsboro
  • Jae Won Choi, South Korea
  • Dustin DuCharme, Richland Center
  • Qiting(Katy) Feng, China
  • Bohan Hao, China
  • Stephanie Johnson, Sun Prairie
  • Brandon Merkle, Lone Rock
  • James Minor, LaFarge
  • Kimberly Schnurr, Elroy
  • David Thering, Plain; Kaitlin White, Richland Center
  • Holden Wilkinson, Blue River
  • Wai Him (Brian) Yam, Hong Kong

Kelli Michek, Muscoda, was named as recipient of the Excellence in Biological Science Award. 

James Minor, LaFarge, was congratulated as recipient of the Magellan Award for History by Dr. Aharon Zorea, associate professor of history

Campus journalists Brandon Merkle, Lone Rock, and Elizabeth Govier, Prairie du Chien, were recognized with Express Leadership Awards. Express is the UW-Richland student newspaper.

  • Teigen Haye, Tomah, was named Future Educator of the Year
  • Colton Wilson, Richland Center, was presented with a Basketball Leadership Award
  • Terra Kilkeary, Richland Center, was recognized with the Excellence in Psychology Award presented by Dr. Dennis Carpenter, associate professor of psychology

Recognized for their service as Campus View Resident Advisors were:

  • Sara Fritsch, Cobb
  • Johnathan Seymour, Genoa
  • Logan Zuelke, Tomah

Service with Student Senate, the student government of UW-Richland, was acknowledged. Student Senate members honored by advisor Lisa Behling for their service were:

  • Kerian Brown, Jamaica
  • Jae Won Choi, South Korea
  • Qiting Feng, China
  • Preston Fieldhouse, Richland Center
  • Beth Govier, Prairie du Chien
  • Hanna Halavina, Belarus
  • Vince Heal, Viola
  • Josh McCluskey, Hillpoint
  • Andrea Sanchez; France
  • Lily Saribekyan, Armenia
  • Beau Schroeder, Viroqua
  • Sarah Schultz, Richland Center
  • Francesa Shin, South Korea
  • Luca Strebel, Switzerland
  • Brian Yam, Hong Kong
  • Noah Young, Viola

Behling also recognized Campus Ambassadors, who serve throughout the year, as hosts, campus tour guides and more. Honored for their campus service were Ambassador volunteers were:

  • Teigen Haye, Tomah
  • Anna Korb, Richland Center
  • Chelse Lumzy, Cazenovia
  • Jennifer Ottman, Blue River
  • Tara Pizer, Richland Center
  • Jenny Powell, Gays Mills
  • Leticia Silva, Delavan
  • Kait Sime-Peschel, Soldiers Grove
  • Miranda Way, Richland Center
  • Brian Yam, Hong Kong
  • Ryan Zoellick, Richland Center

The Ron Ganser Memorial Award recognizes a student for success in both athletics and academics. Colton Wilson, Richland Center, was honored with this award.

The Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete Award was presented to Danielle Peterson, Hillsboro, in recognition of her excellence in both academics and athletics.

UW-Richland students named John Poole, assistant dean for Student Services, as 2010-2011 Roadrunner of the Year. Students initiated this award in 1982. Poole was first honored as Roadrunner of the Year in 1983 and he is the only person to be awarded this recognition for a second time. The Roadrunner of the Year award recognizes a faculty or staff person for participation in and support of campus activities, accessibility to students, and a positive attitude toward UW-Richland.


Dorothy Thompson
(608) 647-6186, Extension 231