UW-Richland Phi Theta Kappa honor society: New members inducted

By UW-Richland

The Phi Mu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, University of Wisconsin-Richland’s honor society, inducted new members during ceremonies held on campus April 30. The ceremony was organized by advisor Dr. Aharon Zorea, associate professor of history, and chapter leaders President Tyler Ewing, Muscoda; Vice President Anna Schellhorn, Gays Mills; Vice President in Charge of Activities Emily Rebhan, Cazenovia; Treasurer Nichelle Martin, Gays Mills; and  Secretary Erin Tulpa, Oak Creek.

New members are:

Luke Coleman, Richland Center, who was elected as vice president for activities for 2014-2015;
Claire Joyce, Oregon, WI;
Tsz Fung (Timmy) Kwan, Hong Kong, who was elected as treasurer for 2014-2015;
Matthew Maclay, Richland Center;
Hollie Martin, Gays Mills, who was elected as secretary for 2014-2015;
Hannah Munger, West Salem, who was elected as president for 2014-2015;
Patrisha Richardson, Boscobel;
Eduardo Salinas, Venezuela;
Joshua Stohr, Viroqua;
Madison Vande Hey, Boscobel, who was elected as vice president for 2014-2015; and
Yang Yang, China.

New members join about 20 continuing members. Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is to recognize and encourage scholarship and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development for members of this international honor society for students at two-year colleges.                      

Since the UW-Richland Phi Mu chapter was chartered in 1971, more than 575 members have graduated. For more information about the organization, contact Zorea by e-mail at aharon.zorea@uwc.edu or by calling the campus at (608) 647-6186, Extension 247.              ###


Dorothy Thompson
608.647.6186, ext. 231