New Phi Theta Kappa Members

Campus chapter has inducted over 600 members since 1971
By John Christensen - Campus Communications Manager

The Phi Mu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, University of Wisconsin-Platteville Richland’s academic honor society, inducted new members during ceremonies held on campus November 26, 2018. Dr. Aharon Zorea, Professor of History, and advisor to the campus chapter, joined President Madison Gander of Soldiers Grove, Vice President Nam Duc Nguyen of Vietnam, and other current members to welcome the new inductees 

New inductees include:

  • Apisalome Nagina Erenatau of Figi

  • Mackenzie Foege of Cazenovia

  • Dat Hoang of Vietnam

  • David Neff of Blue River

  • Quan Nguyen of Vietnam

  • Mikayla Olson of Steuben

Phi Theta Kappa's mission is two-fold: 1) recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students; and, (2) provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.  The American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges in 1929.

Today Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.5 million members and 1,200 chapters located in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territories, Canada, and Germany.  To be eligible for membership a student must complete a minimum of twelve hours of associate degree course work and generally earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college.


Aharon Zorea